Ilford Delta 3200 exposure question

Discussion in 'Film Forum' started by kevin_c, Sep 21, 2008.

1. Hi All, I've done a quick search, and get the feeling that Ilford Delta 3200 is not a true ISO 3200 speed film, and in fact underexposes negatives if set to this setting? a lot of people seem to be exposing it at 1600 - is this a good idea?
    I'll be sending the films off to a semi-pro lab I use for my Delta 400 etc. to be developed and I'm pretty sure they'll be using D76 or simlar, so the films will probably get a pretty 'bog-standard' developing job.

I have a large indoor (large hotel) family 'do' coming up next month and although most of the shots I take will be in colour (I'll use digital & flash for these) I want to shoot a few rolls of Delta 3200 (or similar) to get some more 'atmospheric' images using my F100.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

2. rotxlk82

rotxlk82

Jul 20, 2007
    UK
    Hi Kevin, I have no experience with this film however I've always been impressed by the fact sheets supplied by Ilford. The Delta 3200 one (http://www.ilfordphoto.com/Webfiles/200613019405339.pdf) seems to have a lot of info regarding the range of EIs supported by the film.

Good luck with your shoot.

3. Thanks for the link Robert - I've downloaded the sheet (and a couple of others) and it looks as though it has a pretty wide exposure latitude.

I may just fire off a roll indoors sometime and see how it performs before I get to use it in anger so to speak.
    I've used the Delta 400 a lot and expose this at 400 and it's a great film IMO, but I just picked up on a few threads here and there about the actual ISO rating of the 3200 emulsion being a bit lower.

Thanks again.

4. Chris101

Chris101

Feb 2, 2005
    Arizona