I'm a professional photographer... almost!

Just had an interview with a local wedding studio. I am going to do some unpaid wedding shoots with them to see if they like me, and then I will be a paid second-shooter for their weddings. The assumption then would be that I use the money to build up my gear as I gain experience, and eventually do weddings on my own.

Who knows how well I'll do, but I'm excited by the prospect!

Good For You

Ryan--
Congratulations and I am sure all will go well with the test period. Remember, nothing ventured, nothing gained. Hope this is the start of a great career for you!

Ron

Congratulations Ryan. I had an opportunity like that a couple of years ago and actually learned a lot. Best of luck...

In my opinion your getting robbed.

They should pay you at least something for your time, and then more if they actually use your images.

If they can get you to shoot a couple of weddings for free (for which they are probably getting paid a second shooter fee), then they can find someone else after you to shoot for free. Its a vicious cycle.

Now if I can just find a plumber to replace some valves for me for free, and if I like him, I'll pay him to replace a couple more ...

Gary

Just had an interview with a local wedding studio. I am going to do some unpaid wedding shoots with them to see if they like me, and then I will be a paid second-shooter for their weddings. The assumption then would be that I use the money to build up my gear as I gain experience, and eventually do weddings on my own.

i dont think he's getting robbed, photography is tough work and is very competitive... i'm doing the same thing, and i know that if i dont start somewhere, how else would i get my work out there?

I think the answer here is a bit of a compromise - the biggest issue is "some" unpaid weddings. I'd say go back and say "1" unpaid wedding then 2nd as a paid second shooter.

Best of luck with the new endevour!