I'm finally using the Exposure Compensation button

Discussion in 'General Technical Discussion' started by lisantica, Jun 22, 2007.

1. lisantica

lisantica

Jul 4, 2006
    So. Calif.
    Who knew that button was so handy!
    I have been post-processing the exposure for about a year or two now.
    Geesh! I should have paid more attention to those pages in the manual, but I didn't quite get it then.
    I've been doing +0.7 etc., and getting MUCH better results. It took getting a manual focus lens to get me to have a better understanding of exposure/aperture, etc.

My vote for the most handy button, next to the ISO button is the +/- button!

Any other votes for this button? :biggrin:
    Lisa

2. paradiddle

paradiddle

Jun 1, 2007
    U.S.A
    Lisa - I still don't get it. But still learning. Congrats.

3. lisantica

lisantica

Jul 4, 2006
    So. Calif.
    Not to worry, I've been using digital SLR since August 2004 and finally used that button just today! :biggrin:

Lisa

4. billg71

billg71

May 4, 2007
    Atlanta, GA
    Lisa,

Congratulations! The EC button is a great one, saves a lot of time.

My favorite is the BKT button combined with Continuous shutter mode. Hold the shutter release down and you get however many bracketed exposures you set up.

Try it, you might like it, too.

Bill

5. lisantica

lisantica

Jul 4, 2006
    So. Calif.
    I'll give it a whirl tomorrow!

Lisa

6. I shoot mostly manual now so no need to use it. But the times I shoot Aperture Priority, it is really handy to fine tune exposure based on the histogram.

7. Only really used it in the winter with the white snow.
    A few times, used it in other seasons as well.
    Overall, it is not used that much but it does come in handy at times.
    Of course, still trying to really fully understand when to use it.