I'm in the door if I want it!

I've been wanting to shoot MX races since I started shooting MX in 2005. I found out this weekend at Waco Eagles the races no longer have a photographer - well, it's due to falling attendance and I'm thinking after having seen some of the photos, due also to poor photography. I have no clue as to how I should charge for photos or exactly how to promote my skills down there. I'm basically a "nobody" and dunno how well I'd be recieved. I do have a big welcome to come from one of the heads over the races. Any thoughts, tips, ideas would be welcome at this point.

Congrats Dianne on a great opportunity. I'd say work closely with the racr organizers to get permissions at key locations and then build a nice delivery method. Are these photos for the organizers or the participants/families? Are you shooting on spec? meaning are you just trying to get people to buy? I'd consider a sellable web-site such as zenfolio or smgmug.

Congrats Dianne on a great opportunity. I'd say work closely with the racr organizers to get permissions at key locations and then build a nice delivery method. Are these photos for the organizers or the participants/families? Are you shooting on spec? meaning are you just trying to get people to buy? I'd consider a sellable web-site such as zenfolio or smgmug.

Thanks! I have smugmug. The photos may end up being for both. I'd like to find out why the attendance is falling off and a few other things. It's a good 1 1/2 hour drive to Waco - if not more, and I don't want to be wasting gas. I've never had any issues selling my MX shots, a race may even make things better. We'll see how it goes....