Image Size question

Discussion in 'General Technical Discussion' started by kccheers, May 8, 2005.

1. kccheers

kccheers

May 2, 2005
    Liberty, Mo
    I have an Image size question:

I am fairly new to the D70, and we took quite a few pix on vacation last fall in Estes Park. I shot jpeg and the file size for the images was
    3008x2000. I know I can resize the pic to make the file size smaller, but if I crop it and the image changes because of the crop, if I get a print made will it have white borders possibly on 2 sides instead of a full print?

I guess my basic question is this: Is the 3008x2000, or similar resized file the default for a "print" size file, where the entire photo paper would be filled? Is there a formula to this, such as 300x200, etc?

Thanx for the help.

cheers from KC

2. Gale

Gale

Jan 26, 2005
    Viera Fl
    Guess you need to tell the forum what program (s)you are using to edit :>))

3. kccheers

kccheers

May 2, 2005
    Liberty, Mo
    Sorry, that would be Photoshop 7.0

4. Gale

Gale

Jan 26, 2005
    Viera Fl
    Hi Sam,

I had a hard time with this also. Thank God I have a local printer that does everything for me and will even do some touch ups.

He showed me.

At the top of the window when you choose the crop tool,

Put in the sizes, ie: 5x7 or 7x5, 8x10, 10x8, at 300 You know your oriientation, landscape or portrait.

Drag the mouse from the corner, until it stops within the size range. THENNNNNNNN

you will prob have to crop. In the center of that area, before you chose crop you can move it around where you want it. Just put your mouse in the middle and you can move it around. Must stay within the pic perimeters tho.

ORRRRR sometines what I have to do is crop first just how I like the pic, and then put in the parameters. Before you do it that way hit the clear button on top to clear your previous demensions.

Then go back after YOUR personal crop and re-enter your sizes..