1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Critique Impressionistic landscape

Discussion in 'Landscapes, Architecture, and Cityscapes' started by Mike Buckley, Apr 10, 2018.

1. One hour after sunrise in Madikwe Game Preserve in South Africa near the Botswana border. I tried several things I've never done before, so your critique is especially welcome.

Mike 2018-03-29--0745-S.
    NIKON D7000    180-180 mm F2.8-F2.8    180mm    f/4.5    1/500s    ISO 140

• Like Like x 6
    • Appreciate Appreciate x 1
  2. Nicely done...fog can turn an ordinary photograph into something extraordinary. It really makes this photograph. I like the panoramic cropping choice as well. Excellent work.

Glenn

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Butlerkid

Butlerkid Cafe Ambassador Moderator

Apr 8, 2008
    Rutledge, Tennessee
    Karen
    I agree with Glenn's comments. I think the OOF foreground balances the foggy upper portion of the image and adds to the feel of the image. The viewer's eye wanders around the image but goes back to the center of the image.

4. I like what you've done here Mike. For me, the image is similar to one that you typically see in older images in a geographic magazine from a bygone era. The fog and processing that you chose adds to the concept. Well done.

5. merlin

merlin

Oct 12, 2010
    Northern New Mexico
    Merlin Emrys
    Excellent! The fog does wonders for the scene, as does the perspective.

6. like it. Reminds me of something prehistoric,

7. Love it. I'm jealous! There is a great sense of mystery.

8. I agree with all of the above. A beautiful image Mike.

9. Thank you, everyone!

I wish I had a file with more depth of field that would make the foreground bushes a little sharper, as I wonder if a tad more sharpness in that area would be attractive.