Increase my workflow understanding, please.

Discussion in 'Nikon Capture and View NX' started by Harry Lavo, Jul 24, 2007.

1. I really need some information in the are of high-volume processing. I started shooting sports last year and am now average 175-250 shots per game. Most are now in JPEG; sometimes I shoot raw. I am finding the time to sort, process, and post to the web (much less send prints to appropriate end-users) extraordinarily time consuming.

I think I can describe my "ideal" post processing, but I don't know which software can deliver it or whether it can be done by any (I tried capture when I bought my d50 too years ago but was too much of a digital SLR newbie to appreciate much about it at the time...it seem cumbersome to me).

I shoot with a D50 and soon-to-be, a D1H. Currently I am processing with Adobe Elements 4.0 with Neat Image Pro+ as a plug-in. I have also played around with the trial version of DxO.

Here is what I would like to be able to do:

* Sort while downloading from the camera. Probably half my shots are throw aways. If I could serially screen each shot full-screen one-at-a-time and hit a "keep" or a "delete" button at this point I would be very happy.

* Have the "keepers" deposited in a holding directory (but not a final directory) classifying the shot by game-opponents-type-date, and transferring that data to a revised shot title.

* Have the "keepers" processed when this is happening with any "universal" settings applied, such settings to be easily coded into presets so chosing the right one for the batch is a simple choice.

* Have the "keepers" identified during this process as requiring customized pp or not, and those requiring it fed into a pp holding bin in Photoshop or equivalent.

* Save the individually PP's back into the holding bin as part of a version set, but done as a batch, not individually.