Infrared Images

Discussion in 'Night, InfraRed, and UltraViolet Photography' started by jon.oman, Jun 30, 2007.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Thanks for looking!

Jon

2. Pretty place for IR photography. You have some nice images here.

3. Thanks Gordon, glad that you like them. Yes, it is a pretty place.

It appears you live in Utah? I was there a few years ago. Here is a gallery of my images from the Southwest:

http://jon-oman.smugmug.com/gallery/2537006#135851033

Jon

4. This is a color rendition of the second image above:

[​IMG]

Not sure if I like it, but this is my first attempt with color infrared.

Jon

5. I really like the second shot. I think it would look pretty cool as a HDR image as well.

6. Thanks Rich! I have never done an HDR, but it is in my future.

Jon

7. pixelpixie

pixelpixie Guest

Jon first off cool images! Second, the MOMENT I clicked on this thread I was like "what the heck??? That is Azela Park!!!!" I live in Summerville too!!! LOL
    I am interested in IR photography...do you have to have a special camera that is set up and dedicated to just IR photography? Where would one start for this? Howdy Neighbor!

8. Thanks, glad you like them! And, Howdy also!

I do not have a special IR camera. These were taken with my Nikon D70, with a Hoya R72 filter, on the kit lens. With the filter on you can not see through the viewfinder. The shutter times are long (1/4 to several seconds), so you need to use a tripod. What is nice with digital, is that you can see the image on the viewfinder and look at the histogram. What I do, is compose the image without the filter, and then put the filter on and take the picture.

Did you know there was a local Summerville camera guild? Members get together fairly often for walk-abouts. Take a look here:

http://www.scphotogs.com/

Jon

1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.