Installing SSD in HP Probook.

Joined
Sep 17, 2006
Messages
12,085
Location
Hamilton , New Zealand
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2011
Messages
2,095
Location
London
Good idea.
I am going to be doing the same thing as you in a couple of hours.
Cloning 256gb SSD to a 480gn SSD.
I will end up in the same situation as you and will let you know how it goes.
I was going to have one larger partition. But I might just have two and keep local files and onedrive on the second one.
 

Growltiger

Administrator
Administrator
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
12,192
Location
Up in the hills, Gloucestershire, UK
That option is grayed out :( Nothing works "normally" for me.
I'm delighted the BIOS update worked.

I'm assuming Disk Management shows you the main partition and then unallocated space.
The main partition has to be formatted as NTFS, which it should be anyway, but who knows what happened in the past of that computer.
If it isn't NTFS is cannot be extended, and you need to convert it to NTFS (which is quite easy) and then the extend option won't be greyed out.
Check the properties of the partition and find if it is NTFS or not (e.g. FAT32).
 

Growltiger

Administrator
Administrator
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
12,192
Location
Up in the hills, Gloucestershire, UK
You should not have created a volume in the empty space. You need to delete the new volume F: so it shows as Unalloacted.
And you need to remove the small one above that too.
There must be nothing between C: and Unallocated. Then you can extend.
That should fix it.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2006
Messages
12,085
Location
Hamilton , New Zealand
I've done that plus many other things - formatted them all as NTFS, made it un-allocated, formated it as logical, as primary ....... I think I will just leave it as another drive for now.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2006
Messages
12,085
Location
Hamilton , New Zealand
I get "Help" no matter where I click on that drive.

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 

Growltiger

Administrator
Administrator
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
12,192
Location
Up in the hills, Gloucestershire, UK
You can delete it (the little recovery partition) using the diskpart command from an elevated command prompt. You may need to add the word "override" to the end of the command.
Google diskpart to learn how to use it.
Be careful you don't delete the wrong one!
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2011
Messages
2,095
Location
London
You can delete it (the little recovery partition) using the diskpart command from an elevated command prompt. You may need to add the word "override" to the end of the command.
Google diskpart to learn how to use it.
Be careful you don't delete the wrong one!
I get "Help" no matter where I click on that drive.

View attachment 1646316
I followed all the instructions from Growltiger and it worked for me.
Success
Now about to replace standard keyboard with backlit keyboard.
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2005-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom