1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Insurance question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Palouse, Sep 8, 2018.

1. For those of you who have your equipment insured with your homeowners policy, did you list all of your gear, or just the big ticket items (lenses, bodies, tripod, head)?
    I'm not a professional and will be soon be adding my stuff to a State Farm policy.

2. Butlerkid

Butlerkid Cafe Ambassador Moderator

Apr 8, 2008
    Rutledge, Tennessee
    Karen
    I have a separate scheduled policy which covers camera, lenses, hubby's video gear and jewelry. The value you insure is what you get if there if loss. I only insure the big ticket cameras and lenses. Tripods, gimbals, etc I accept the risk.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Thanks Karen. I find that use some of my stuff more now that I'm retired, but that and age also increases the chance of theft or accident.

4. All my big items are insured. The accessories depends on how much the replacement cost is. Most but a few items are not insuired

5. Butlerkid

Apr 8, 2008
    Rutledge, Tennessee
    Karen
    Having save a lot during my 30+ years of working, I can now afford some relatively expensive gear. For me the accidental "drop" of a big ticket item is more likely than a theft. Still - as in all things - balance is the key. Big tickets...insure. Otherwise, self insure. AND - if I'm traveling a lot internationally I may add items to the insurance policy. Traveling around the USA.....I'm more willing to self insure.

After deciding to sell my beloved 500mm, I dropped it from the insurance. After all, it was relatively secure at home and not being used.

6. Good advice, thanks.

7. I too have a scheduled list on my homeowners policy. I have just the big items.