Internal Combustion (seeking advice)

I'm a bird photographer, but when I walked outside the house at 6 am yesterday and saw a lightning event over the ocean by Marineland I wanted to try to get some shots, never having shot lightning before. This was taken 30 minutes before sunrise. D7200, 16-80 VR on a tripod with the lens set to infinity. I simply would wait until I saw a flash of light then I'd press the shutter button. This image has issues and I was wondering, in this situation, what I should do to get a cleaner/sharper image. I live in the lightning capital of the country so maybe I should learn how to photograph it.
1807k.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Not a competition, buy my area is the "lightning capital" of the Northern Hemisphere.

Though the Tampa Bay area is sometimes referred to as the "Lightning Capital of the World",[6] it is more accurately called the “Lightning Capital of North America” if measured by average number of days with thunderstorm activity per year. During the summer, west-central Florida receives as much lightning as the world's true lightning leaders such as the Lake Victoria region of Africa and the central Amazon River Basin. However, there are few thunderstorms in the Tampa Bay area from approximately October to May, decreasing the yearly average.[3]

Every year, Florida averages 10 deaths and 30 injuries from lightning strikes, with several of these usually occurring in or around Tampa.[7] University of Florida lightning expert Martin A. Uman has calculated that the average resident is within a half-mile of 10 to 15 lightning strikes every year.[8] TECO Energy, Tampa's electric utility, spends over millions of dollars annually to repair transformers and other equipment damaged by lightning strikes.[9]