Is anyone else here an "Equipment Minimalist?"

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SoCalBob, May 23, 2007.

1. SoCalBob

SoCalBob

Feb 9, 2006
    Riverside, CA
    Just wondering. Not unexpectedly, the Cafe's most prolific and tremendously helpful contributors seem to be either extremely dedicated, devoted and very expert hobbyists or professionals. Despite the fact that I simply lurk most of the time, I love the camaraderie here. The Cafe isn't just another website, it really is a family.

But I'm always hesitant to post my photos here because the vast majority of them simply can't compare with all the others that I see. Mostly, though, I lose interest sometimes when discussions turn to the relative merits of this or that lens that costs $1000 or more. More power to those who can afford expensive cameras and equipment, but I'm not in that league. I'm a simply a hobbyist now (even though photography has been my primary interest for 50 years), and I try to make the best of what I can afford.

So I am what you might call an "Equipment Minimalist." I consider myself a reasonably capable photographer technically, but really just a hobbyist at this time, nonetheless -- not a truly "serious" photographer or pro. In that context, I like to travel light these days, and not be weighed down by a gadget bag full of assorted lenses like I once was. So when Nikon announced an 11x zoom with VR and the reviews looked very good, I was immediately sold on it.

My prayers for one "do just about everything" lens were answered when the 18-200VR came out, and my preference was to spend "big bucks" (at least on my budget) for one lens like this instead of choosing 2-3 different ones that I'd have to carry around and change all the time.

How light do I travel? Here's all I carry.

510440945_6116a24ca0.