Is it time for a D2x firmware update?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Scott Sherman, Oct 15, 2005.

1. I would like to be able to see how many compressed raw images are still available and how many have been shot. In a perfect world, is there anything else that you would like to see which might be fixed by a firmware update?

If Nikon were to come out with a D2xs, what might you expect to see different, realistically? I don't have any serious complaints but I am not shooting pro level and I am not an engineer. I'm just wondering, now that you have had a chance to evaluate our D2x, what we might expect to see change. Nikon seems to like to beta test it's products and then come out with a fixed version. The D70s, D2hs, SB29s and D1x buffer upgrade, come to mind as examples.

2. PGB

PGB

Jan 25, 2005
    Scott,

I've been thinking about this post since you put it up. I just can't think of anything that I would want to change on the X. I'm sure if I ever really figure it out to its fullest extent I might have something to gripe about.

However at this time is just perfect for me.

Thanks,

3. mf44

mf44

Jun 4, 2005
    NJ & MD
    Hmm, all I can say is that it'd be nice to have ISO 1000. At a few venues I shoot sports at I used to use ISO 1000 1/500 f2.8. Now since I'm shooting at 800 I back it down to around 1/400, or I need to jump up to HI - 1. 1000 would be nice, but I don't care all that much.

The only other thing in the back of my mind would be if they came out with an upgrade down the road to allow 12.4 megapixels at 8fps uncropped. That's all I could ask for. And looking at how the D1x got a buffer upgrade eventually, I think we could see something like that in due time. Who knows, though... not me, that's for sure.