Is this a good deal?

There is an ad on the local Craigslist for "Luciferio 2X3 bank on Boom two 1500 WS Calumet linear heads. $75 or best offer." with these pictures:

http://images.craigslist.org/3E43Gc3Nf5I55E65Kbd4mdc290e004313145b.jpg

http://images.craigslist.org/3Ka3Ma3Ha5Nc5La5E2d4m1e26290caa631809.jpg

I emailed the seller, saying:
Hi, I'm interested! But can you give me a little input?
I'm an amateur, right now I have a high end Nikon DSLR, and I use two flashes with umbrellas using the Nikon wireless system. I think a softbox like this would be great for portraits. but I'm not that familiar with how to use flash heads like the ones you're including. Do I need a separate power source or transformer to power them? Do I need to purchase a wireless trigger to set off the flash? What else would I need to buy to properly make use of this? Thanks.

He responded with:
I can sell you a Calumet power pack for $50.00 to power up the strobe heads and modeling lights.

Should I run like heck to make this purchase, or run the other way?

DAB

Last edited by a moderator:
The prices dont sound right to me when compared to what is shown in the picture. Softboxes of any fashion by themselves are expensive, booms are generally not cheap, and neither are flash heads, especially 1500ws heads. Also.... two 1500 ws heads in incredibly powerful..... and you get all of this for 75 bucks? and a power pack for $50 ?

Sounds fishy to me... I would tread carefully, ask him to set everything up, show you how it works and that it does in fact work, make sure everything is in good condition, and only then consider buying it. Also, if you have a freind knowledgeable in photo stuff I would drag them along as well. If he is willing to do all of that sweet if not, I would just by some inexpensive monolights ( cowboy studio) and be done with it. You may want to check out the monolights anyway...... they are small and compact and easy to use.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Thanks, Brandon.