Japanese lens prices keep going up

Since I'm kind of new to Nikon world so I'm still in the lens buying mode at this moment. I keep my eyes on the market for the lenses that I'm interested in, I've been monitored the prices for a couple lenses for a while but after the Japan quake, all lenses that I was monitoring went up quite a bit.

Why is this? The dealers must have sensed the supply shortage and blindly raise the prices for all Japanese lenses. All prices are based on Amazon prices.

I also monitored the eBay prices, all popular Japanese lenses have higher bidding number and prices.

Looks like we'll all suffer from the Japan quake:mad:

Here are the lenses I was monitoring:

Nikon 105mm f2.8 macro: was $885 now $984
Tokina 11-16mm f2.8: was $684 now $779

Last edited by a moderator:
It doesnt suprise me in the least. I dont think its retailers capitalizing on the quake. I think you'll find that availablity parts that are used for the manufacturing of those lens has been affected if not the manufacturing of the lenses themselves. This leads to a shortage of supply. Short supply + Normal demand equates to an increase in prices. Sounds like ordinary economics to me. Is it fair given that there is most likely stock on the shevles? No, but when that stock is gone and the shop cannot re-supply they lose revenue so they make up for anticipated losses while they can.

Of course if the USD is struggling against the YEN this could also account for increased prices on existing stock.

I know a website in Australia has stated that existing orders placed for a listed price will be supplied at the increased price because the cost of the supply went up due to the quake.

Nikon prices have been going up pretty good since the economy tanked, I'm sure this will make it worse though.