Jogging polar bear cub and more from the Toledo Zoo

Discussion in 'Other Animals' started by sommer, Jul 15, 2007.

1. It took a couple of months, but we finally made it to the Toledo Zoo to see the new polar bear cubs! There are two cubs born to different moms, and they have to be separated into family units, so only one is on display at a time. This little one was ADORABLE!! You forget how dangerous polar bears can be when you see a little one like this romping and playing. I was shooting through black netting and trying to focus manually which (a) I've never done before, and (b) was a real challenge given how active this little bear was!

[​IMG]

I fell in love with this little orang. Dirty glass (very dirty glass) and severe glare notwithstanding, his eyes aren't sharp like I'd like them to be, and I'm beyond frustrated. He's such a cutie though that I couldn't resist posting.

[​IMG]

Baby Louie and his mom (or aunt?...I can't recall the exact history, but I think his mom wasn't taking care of him properly, so he bonded with one of the other females in the herd.) Louie is about 4-5 years old now, IIRC, and he's so much fun to watch. It's neat to see such a huge creature playing and having fun.

[​IMG]

And one more...my daughter's favorite animal. This one posed so nicely, except for the fact that he's sticking out his tongue at me, lol!

[​IMG]

2. haze2

haze2

Mar 18, 2007
    Phoenix, AZ
    Great shots! I still love going to the zoo to shoot. Every day presents different opportunities than the last. BTW, I think the Orang looks great.

3. fishlips

fishlips

Apr 20, 2007
    Puyallup, WA
    Sommer: Fun shots. I can only imagine the difficultly shooting thru the black screen that you spoke of. Nonetheless, it looks like you and yours had a great time. I think that is all that counts.

RWH