JPEG's okay by me ...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SoCalBob, Jul 14, 2007.

1. SoCalBob

SoCalBob

Feb 9, 2006
    Riverside, CA
    The vast majority of frequent contributors and "family members" here in the Cafe are an extremely dedictated and talented group of amateur and professional photographers. I monitor the Cafe daily and greatly appreciate all the information and ideas I derive here. But I don't post very often.

With my limited expertise (even though photography has been my hobby since 1957), I have little to contribute to most of the topics discussed here. And my photos, almost without exception, fall far below the standards of quality and aesthetics that I find posted here.

But that doesn't change the fact that I am a dedicated photo hobbyist. I am much less affluent than most of the frequent contributors here appear to be in terms of buying cameras, lenses and equipment. And my work schedule severely limits my ability to go out and take pictures. When I do get a chance to get out it's a rare treat, made even better if I manage to get a decent shot.

I apologize if this has turned into a rant, but one of the things I have always valued about the Nikon Cafe is its friendly acceptance of "newbies" and amateurs like me. Recently I've begun to sense a very subtle bit of an elitist attitude creeping into the forum, and I'd certainly like to head off any tendency in that direction.

For me, as I said, JPEGs from my D80 work just fine. I've read all the compelling reasons for shooting in RAW. However, for the kinds of pictures I take, I simply can't justify the monster file sizes and all the additional PP hoops you have to jump through to do it when it's so easy for me to rescue/tweak a JPEG like this.

Here's a shot of the Corona, CA police department helicopter taking off, shot in JPEG. I don't take pictures that can rival most of the contributors here simply because I don't have the time.