KVM switch advice please

I've never used a KVM switch before, but I now want to use one to connect a Windows XP and Windows 8 machine.

I think I only need 2 ports.

Anyone with advice about which brand to get? I've been looking at the Startech product on Amazon which seems to have pretty good reviews, but there was some concern about the resolution of the monitor not being maintained when you switch from one computer to another.

Any advice would be appreciated as I've had no experience with these things:eek:

I've used a number of Belkin and IOGear over the years and they were fine. Seems like every one that I used back in the pre-VM days had some quirkiness to it but I imagine they've improved since then. The biggest thing for me was good USB compatibility/swapping - I'd switch machines and all of a sudden the mouse or keyboard wouldn't work, so I would be forced to unplug/plug in the USB cord at the KVM and it was annoying.

Sean

Growltiger

Administrator
Administrator
I used them back in the days of VGA cables. I don't know how well they cope with the modern monitor connections and resolutions.

Are you sure you need to do this? I have Windows XP running here on my Windows 8 machine. It runs in a window. And remember XP expires next Spring.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Are you sure you need to do this? I have Windows XP running here on my Windows 8 machine. It runs in a window. And remember XP expires next Spring.
That's a good question Richard. I just got the Windows 8 computer and have not even open it yet. How do I run XP within Windows 8? I have lots of programs that were for XP that I have no interest in updating and I would use the XP machine off line anyways so, I'm not worry about it expiring.

I just thought it would be easier to use a KVM switch to run both computers rather than figuring out how to run my XP programs in Windows 8.