L-358 and Flash - Help!

Joined
Oct 4, 2006
Messages
2,189
Location
Chicago, IL
I bought a Sekonic L-358 and using it in normal light, it works fine. I bought it to work with two flash units (SB800 and SB600). When I have the SB800 mounted on the D300 - the settings it provides work great. When I take it off the shoe (wired) - it gives me odd readings (1/160th and 1.1...). I have tried several times and can repeat it.

The meter is set to flash mode, wireless.... anyone have any ideas? I must be fat fingering something....
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2006
Messages
2,189
Location
Chicago, IL
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #3
Yes - manual. I had set them both up in wireless mode when I notice the problem. I shut one flash down - same problem. Then I did what I had posted above... It has to be something really dumb I missed.....
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2006
Messages
2,189
Location
Chicago, IL
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #4
Well, found one duh... batteries were dying in the SB800 - seems to work now in manual mode... but... is it possible the pre-flash when in wireless is setting off the light meter reading? It will not work on the wireless flash set up....
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2008
Messages
1,053
Location
CA
Well, found one duh... batteries were dying in the SB800 - seems to work now in manual mode... but... is it possible the pre-flash when in wireless is setting off the light meter reading? It will not work on the wireless flash set up....
If your flashes are in manual mode then there shouldn't be any pre-flashes.
 
Joined
May 8, 2005
Messages
4,638
Location
Orlando, FL
You need to describe your setup more accurately. What is the trigger (the D300)? What are the remotes set to (Remote?). What mode are you using (TTL or Manual)?
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2006
Messages
2,189
Location
Chicago, IL
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #8
You need to describe your setup more accurately. What is the trigger (the D300)? What are the remotes set to (Remote?). What mode are you using (TTL or Manual)?
Sorry - guess I was tired and tried to describe quickly. D300 is the trigger, the flash units are set to remote - both on same channel, and both full power in manual mode. It seems that the pre-flash is setting the reading off on the light meter.

This morning, I set the D300 to rear sync, 2 second shutter exposure and it worked perfectly. The reading it gave me when dialed into the D300 was right. My thought in the rear sync and 2 second exposure was to try and get a pause befween the pre-flash and the flash output.

If you can think of a better way please let me know.

Thanks!
 
Joined
May 8, 2005
Messages
4,638
Location
Orlando, FL
If you can think of a better way please let me know.

Thanks!
Without being sure of exactly what you are trying to do:

1. Put the remotes to TTL and rely on Nikon to get it right.

2. Leave them in Manual and adjust via the LCD and histogram

3. Use a radio trigger (e.g. Pocketwizard)
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2005-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom