Laptop computer advice

Discussion in 'Other Cool Gear, Camera Bags, Camera Straps' started by Pa, Nov 26, 2005.

1. I've decided to splurge on a small, light, laptop computer to replace my aging Dell. I've about decided on the Toshiba Portege series.

Has anyone had any experience with these +/- ?

2. Hi Pa,

I have no experience with Toshiba Protege but if your primary criterion is lightness, then one of the small-sized Sony vaio might fit the bill for you. I'd like to get one of those 13"monitor models (or is it 11"?). They're quite powerful too, and ideal for traveling.

My 17" Dell is just too heavy although it has all the bells and whistles I want.

3. Ken-L

Ken-L Guest

Toshiba has had a generally good reputation in laptops. But I would be hard pressed to buy anything but a Dell.......

The Dell DellTM Inspiron 700m has these Size Specs:

Weight: 4.1 lbs. (1.86 kg)
    Thickness: 1.5 inches (38.1 mm)
    Width: 11.7 inches (297 mm)
    Depth: 8.5 inches (216 mm)

4. Thanks for giving me some other things to think about.

Toshiba Portege: 2.68 lbs
    0.77 inches thickness
    11.25 inches wide
    9.01 inches deep
    with a 60Gb hard drive

5. Actually, it is spelled Portege! (play on "portable"?)

6. I have a 17 inch Toshiba and I love mine. Make sure to buy the extended warrenty that covers everthing from dropping the computer to fixing it. A real good investment.

Hope this helps,

Melissa