Lighting Equipment question

Discussion in 'Studio Equipment and Lighting' started by Catz, Mar 28, 2005.

1. I purchased two Bowen Esprits a few years ago but now I am contemplating on whether I should invest in a hairlight attached to a boom arm over the subjects hair and a backlight. The two lights I have need to be pretty close to the subjects in order to light the background. I know a couple of reflectors on each side would be less expensive and easier to work with but I'm not too good with reflectors and positioning there where they need to go. It just seems so much easier to meter the lights and go with it.

My question is would you suggest two 400 watt Alienbees for this? I don't think that I would need any higher wattage.

Thanks for any opinions on this.

2. Steve S

Steve S

Feb 1, 2005
    SE Florida
    Hi Mellisa, First of all, if I understand what you said correctly, you don't want to light the bg with just spill from your main/fill lights. If you want to light the bg, you should use a separate light for that. Went to the Bowen's site, and they have about 10 different models, so not sure which ones you're using. I just started using an AB400 attached on a boom stand, and covered with their med softbox for a hairlight. Works great. You do need a heavy duty stand for this app. Don't want it to come craching down onto your subject! I always keep 1 of the stand's leg out in line with the boom for the best stability.

3. Hi Steve,

Thanks for helping me make a decision. I am enclosing the link to the lights I use. I. I purchased 2 of these 2 years ago for 850.00 each and now instead of the price going down on these, the price has gone up. They are very good lights though.

So you use a light for the hairlight, what do you use to light the background up with?

Thanks,

http://calumetphoto.com/ctl?PAGE=Co...amp;ac.cat.CatTree.detail=y&type=PRDINDEX

4. Steve S

Steve S

Feb 1, 2005
    SE Florida
    I have 4 SB400's