Lightroom Web Gallery

Discussion in 'Nikon Capture and View NX' started by Goofy, Jul 21, 2007.

1. Goofy

Goofy

Jul 6, 2007
    Palos Verdes, CA.
    Mark
    I've been trying out Lightroom over the last few days, I'm a rank amateur and have a website for fun and keeping in touch with family and friends, I'm no computer programmer!

In the past I've used Simpleviewer for displaying pictures, I like the look of it and with a few adjustments it suits me fine. I find the Lightroom gallery feature even easier and quicker, all the files are uploaded in one go whereas with Simpleviewer you need to create the folders and upload your images, thumbnails, swf files etc manually. (Or is that just me?)

My question about Lightroom is, can you prevent people copying or printing your online photos? With Simpleviewer you have an option to disable "right click" on your pictures by editing an xml file, with Lightroom's flash galleries a right click gives an option to print, can that be disabled?

I'm not suggesting my images are National Geographic as most will be snapshots or friends holiday pics. I'm asking this out of interest as I'm sure some people out there don't want just anyone printing their photos.

Am I missing the obvious?

2. Goofy,

You can use the flash templates instead of the HTML ones. Yes, a print option is still available, but flash galleries effectively don't offer the right-click "Save As" menu.

However, don't be fooled into thinking that people can't copy (or print) pictures when there is no right-click available. If they have it on screen, they can always capture a screen shot and save or print that. If you don't want people to be able to take your stuff, don't show it, or show it very small and/or show it with a prominent watermark.

3. Goofy

Goofy

Jul 6, 2007
    Palos Verdes, CA.
    Mark
    Thanks Phillipe,