Looking for a Backpack Recommendation

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by PhotoDawg, Mar 2, 2005.

1. Currently, I am in search of a photo backpack. My photo gear is getting bigger and bigger. Most of my gear is sitting on a high shelf in my home away from the dog, cat, and the 7 year old professional photographer. I can't stand my gear sitting out like that. I borrowed flew's LowePro Computrekker and really liked it. That is what I am considering getting, but wanted to get some other opinions from the cafe before making a purchase. BTW, flew gets me in trouble a lot. It seems like when I borrow something from him, I end up going out and buying it. KEEP THAT D2H AT A SAFE DISTANCE!!!

2. PGB

PGB

Jan 25, 2005
    Dawg,

I like the tamrac expedition seven. So far it accomodates all my gear. Stop by my shop and I'll show you if you like.

Thanks,

3. Dawg, here's my personal best. I've been using Lowe (both pro and Alpine) for the last 25 years, own more than 100 different products (from apparel to extreme outdoors and alpine gear and from heavy duty backpacks to simple cell-phone pouches or CD cases) so, here’s what I suggest.

First of all, you have to ask yourself how many of your equipment you would like to carry with you. You should consider the weight and distance factor, that means how heavy can you walk and for how many miles and/or hours…

http://lowepro.com/Products/Backpacks/ -->Main link for LowePro Backpacks

http://lowepro.com/Products/Backpacks/allWeather/ -->AllWeather Series.
    I suggest the Nature Trekker AW II, a “mid’ size backpack that will fit everything (including your dog!) Great build, very spacious and adequate price.
    Capacity:
    • large 35mm or digital pro SLR; 4–5 lenses (up to a 400mm f/2.8, flash and accessories; or
    • compact medium format system (like the Mamiya® 645); or
    • small field camera system
    Size (Interior): 11.5W x 6D x 16.75H in. / 29 x 15 x 42.5 cm