Magfiber tripods, has anyone used them?

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by dond, Jun 29, 2005.

1. I'm looking for a new tripod, sturdy with carbon fiber legs. The Bogen magfiber series, 055MF3 & 4 will support up to 15.5 lbs, has carbon fiber legs, relatively light weight and doesn't cost a whole lot.

I've looked at the Gitzo's, but most are more than I want to spend, trying to keep the cost in the $300 range. Any suggestions? Nedd something to hold the D2X and 200-400 combo.

Thanks.

2. gvk

gvk

Jun 17, 2005
    Mystic, CT
    I have no experience with the Bogen-Manfrotto 055MF3, but I used the 3021 (Aluminum) for several years. The 3021 is a bit heavier, and around the same size as the 055MF3, with slightly lower maximum load capacity (6 vs 7 kg). The 3021 is a solid tripod, but I would consider it marginal for your intended use with a D2X and long lenses.

My experience with tripods has led me to believe that you should derate the manufacturer's claims on load capacity by 2X for a stable setup. Otherwise, vibration can result unless the load is perfectly balanced over the legs, and the tripod is firmly planted on a solid level surface. These conditions may be possible in a studio, but are more difficult to achieve consistently in the field. A D2X with 70-200 VR is over 6 lbs; add 1-2 lbs for a solid ball head and QR plate. In my opinion, this is already pushing a 3021 (and probably the 055MF3) to its limits.

Height is another consideration. I am 5ft 10in tall, and my eye height is at about 66 in. With the 53 inch maximum extension of the 3021 legs, and adding the ball head and camera height of 8-9 inches, I still had to extend the center column a bit to shoot comfortably without crouching. Extending the center column degrades stability, particularly with large heavy rigs.

I replaced my 3021 with a Gitzo 1325 a couple of years ago.

Gerry

3. Don,