Magic settings for the d50?

Discussion in 'Nikon DX DSLR' started by slabwax, Jul 15, 2007.

1. slabwax

slabwax

Aug 30, 2006
    Hi,

I was wondering if anyone has any magic settings and or tips for the d50. I shoot mostly manual.

Thanks
    Dean

2. I can't feature why anyone would shoot manual; if you will explain that, I will give you some great tips for the D50....

3. I leave

everything on auto - (by that I mean contrast, sharpness, etc). The defaults are very good. However I started shooting RAW months back and honestly after years of being an anti-RAW die-hard JPG shooter I think RAW is the very best choice with this camera (more detail, better micro-contrast, better color, highlight recovery, etc) - to get the best results I recommend either Nikon Capture or Capture NX.

4. i agree with watson. shoot raw for best results.

5. DBrim

DBrim

May 30, 2007
    Boston, MA
    I have all of the in-camera settings at their defaults and I've been pleased with the results. One thing I do do, though, is that when I'm shooting I genreally have an exposure comp of -2/3 set. It helps, plus it's a lot easier to recover an underexposed photo. I shoot in RAW as well and love it. As for my preferred shooting mode, I'm generally in aperture priority.

6. Dave

Dave

Feb 7, 2007
    Suwanee, GA
    I agree with the Daniel's...shoot RAW and use Capture to pull everythint out in post processing. I also shoot underexposed a bit as this camera tends to over-expose a bit from what I noticed.

Good luck!

7. LAW2

LAW2

Oct 24, 2006
    JAX
    My experience has been a little different in that I find most of my pictures are underexposed. I'll have to check what settings I am using once I get home.

8. The D50 does really well out of the camera compared to the other Nikon's I have owned (D70s, D80, D200 and D2X). I currently only own one body and it's a D50.