Critique Mariam

Okay for those of ya'll that know me or remember me, I've been a sports photographer for 15+ years. I've been to a school for pros for the last 4 years in a row. I'm gonna post a photo and see what ya''ll say about it - wanna see if it's anywhere near what my teacher said about it. She and her husband are high end with a studio in San Antonio - gotta make sure of that location! Anyway, here's the photo. OH, FYI - Mariam has a prism on her right eye glass lens. She doesn't want it photoshopped. Also, Mariam suffered a stroke almost 2 years ago. She wants people to see her just as she is. I did very little to the photo - basically, removed a hole that was in the rock too close to Mariam - I left the crack.
MARIAM HEAD SHOTS_0837_edited-2.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Hi Dianne,
Three thing that I would like to see, first I would have her adjust the glasses and try to remove more of the reflections. I would like to see the hair pulled back and not falling in front of the shoulders, and third would be to ask her to lower her chin a little.

It will be interesting to see what your teachers recommendations are. Thanks for sharing.

Real Name
Walter Rowe
I agree with Todd. Lower the chin. Adjust the glasses to eliminate the reflection. Maybe use a polarizer. The light is a little flat on her face without much dimension (shadows and highlight with defined transitions). Maybe use some artificial light on her from above right or left and adjust exposure to darken the background so she is the central focal point in the overall lighting.

Brave girl for wanting to show herself unvarnished.

Real Name
Randy
the glare on her glasses is bad, a lot because of the slight tilt upwards of her head
the composition and pose are good