Minor Additions to my D40

I have been using the D40 for a few months now and have gradually been getting better results. Couple of things I have added were the SB-400 flash and a Nikor 18-135 AFS lens. A very good walk around lens that gives me a better chance to capture a wider variety of shots.

I still use the smaller kit lens sometimes, but the longer zoom is good and gives more capabilities when out and about. I have tried not to go nuts buying up photograhy products until I have learned more skills.

The D40 is a great beginners camera for someone like me that never had a lot of SLR film experience, so I am having to learn things that more experienced SLR users already knew.

Lynn

i have both the D40 and the D80. I started out with the D40 and took some amazing pictures with it. I had a similar set up on my D40. I had the 18-135 and a SB-600. Youre going to want a lot more things as you get used to your equipment! Thats why I got the D80... and the 50mm 1.8, SB-800s, and the list goes on... have fun with the D40!

Gear lust!

Thanks Layton,

You must go nuts living in Hawaii. You have a million things to shoot whenever you feel like it. Living in a urban area in Texas, I often have to do some driving to get some nature shots.

To get to the ocean from Dallas, you have to drive hundreds of miles. Nothing like the islands though.

Lynn

I have a D40 too and it's a great camera, although people were right saying that i'd grow out of it soon and want to step up.

I'm really looking at the D80 for more on board control and a wider range of lenses i could use, still working off of the kit lens. needless to say i'm feeling some crazy lens lust for just the starter lenses, like the 18-55 vr (i love non-flash photos in the fading light), 55-200mm vr, and a wide angle 12-24mm, and possibly the 18-200mm as the 'do everything' lens. i'd probably just get the 55-200 and the 18-55 for starters, seeing as how those are cheapies.