1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

More Wacom advide sought

Discussion in 'General Technical Discussion' started by kays, Aug 12, 2008.

1. kays

kays

Aug 9, 2008
    Maryland
    I was thinking of adding on to the other Wacom thread - but the more I got into it, the more it was becomming a hi-jack. SO - I'm sure NONE of you have EVER fielded THIS question before - Someone please humor me?...

I look at the Intuos and the price and just shake my head - and I'm just a bit ticked that it comes with software (Adobe Elements) I'll never use - and wonder...

Then I look at their new-ish $99 pad and pen - I hate to buy into and then move up, but I've never used a pad before and would be even more ticked should I not like the expensive pad.

I've read the different specs on the pads - but in really using them, what does it mean? What will drive me to the nut house because that feature is missing on the "cheap" pad - and what is on the Intuos that is just a bell or whistle?

2. vinman

vinman

Nov 15, 2006
    Upstate SC
    First it boils down to your particular type of workflow. If you do a lot of pixel level editing, you will really get a lot more satisfying experience using the more sensitive and precise Intuos. If you don't do a lot of editing and just want to play around with a pad, go cheap. I got the Intuos 6x11 and love it - when I need it - which is pretty infrequently (fortunately?). You can do a lot with the less expensive pads, but like glass, you DO get what you pay for...

3. RadarPing

RadarPing

Feb 14, 2007
    Conroe, Texas