MX - give me advice!

_dsc2414-1-X2.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

_dsc3151-1-X2.jpg

_dsc2404-1-X2.jpg

_dsc2385-1-X2.jpg

_dsc2880-1-X2.jpg

_dsc1412-1-X2.jpg

_dsc1672-1-X2.jpg

_dsc1994-1-X2.jpg

_dsc2291-1-X2.jpg

_dsc2041-1-XL.jpg

_dsc2249-1-X2.jpg

_dsc2057-1-X2.jpg

Shot with D7000, 18-200VRII
Shutter 1600, Auto-ISO.

C&C Much appreciated, I'm here to learn.

Thanks for looking!

I'm no expert, but I'll give my 2 cents worth.

1. Cropping. Close crops usually win out over shots taken wider or with less cropping. These typically show more expressions and detail. In your case #1 and #11 are really nice. Cropping #6 would improve this shot I believe.

2. Backgrounds. Using the 18-200, especially at the long end, results in a large depth of field, which in some cases distracts from your subject and doesn't give your subject the pop that others lenses can give. Examples of this would be on #3, #5, #6 and #12. Close cropping as mentioned above will tend to reduce some of this. I too have the 18-200 which I like, but it has limitations that you just learn to deal with and work around.

3. Faces, not backs. More times than not, a pleasing photo will show a persons face/front and not their backside. In your case, this includes photos #2, #4, and #10. I believe these would all look better from the front.

4. Exposure. It looks like it was a dark, cloudy day. Given the dirt, rocks, trees in the background, and dark clothing, some of your photos appear to be underexposed, particularly #7, #8, #10, and #12.

Overall you've got some nice photos here and I enjoyed viewing them.

Not really sure . . Maybe I'm lost . . ! !
My advice . . . throw the general rule book out of the window . . you know the rule of thirds, always leave space for the bike/rider to move in to . . and develop your own still of shooting . .