My First Birdfeeder Shots w/70/200 VR +TC

This is my first try at capturing birds at my new feeders. They have only been up for three weeks and I'm getting lots of goldfinches, house finches, song sparrows, and house sparrows, among others.

I set up my camera about 20 feet from the feeder (actually in my kitchen!) and shoot outside. These were all taken with the 70-200/2.8 plus a TC17e teleconverter. That gets me out to 340mm! I've not tried to take small birds before and I was amazed at how much lenspower it takes. At 20 feet, with 340mm of lens, I still had to crop about 1/2 of the frame to get a decent close-up.

I was shooting at 1/500 second, between f/4 and f/5.6 at 320-340mm for each of these shots. I'd sure like your criticism. I know I can improve, but your good advice will help a lot. Thanks!

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

God bless.
Doug

Hey, Gale,
Thanks for the websites. I've taken a quick look at them and I'm sure they will be useful.
I always appreciate good advice!
God bless.
Doug

great captures I have the same feeder you have in pic 1 man I spend a lot of time watching and about 50 pounds of seed every two weeks filling it
but a joy to watch and take pictures of the birds feeding from it

I don't see anything wrong with these photos. The feather detail is very good and on a yellow male finch that is a sharp. Hard to beat any F2.8 glass when it comes to useing any TE on it.
Lou

Hiya Doug! Welcome to the best forum in town! I believe I have the same feeder too! I could only see one photo and that was the 2nd one - awsome shot there! Hope next time I look, I'll see the other 2! Keep em comin! We love birdies!

Hi, Jim,
I'm not sure why you're getting red x's, but I'm new to this forum, so I may be doing something wrong in posting my photos.