My GTO

Hi all,
I have been trying to get a couple decent shots of my car and have been struggling. I am looking for suggestions not so much on content, but pic quality.
These were shot with my Samyang 85mm f/1.4 ISO-400
Did I mention that I am a novice with my D200 and haven't mastered the menu's.:frown:

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

As mentioned I would use a circular polarizer. I'd take multiple exposures with the polarizer removing the reflections on different surfaces and then stack them in Photoshop. I would also loosen up the crop, give the shot some background. The back of the car gets pretty blurry, use a smaller aperture to get more of it in focus. The white balance looks a little yellow to me.

Really nice car. It's good to have something like that to practice your shots on.

Ideally, you need to move back a few feet, and use a CPL and a tripod. Cars are highly reflective, and a CPL helps you control the reflections. Shoot at your lowest native ISO to keep noise down. Shoot the car in 2-3 frames, rotating the CPL a little bit for each shot. Kill the reflections from the windshield first, then the hood, then the side of the car. Shoot in RAW, as red cars tend to get oversaturated. Take your frames into PS and blend them in.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Rick pretty nice car, I like the second shot and the shifter shot. Lots of glare in the first shot, maybe a circular polarizer would help.
Thanks for the compliment on the car. I did a frame off (resto-mod) that was a 8 year project that I finished two years ago. My mother bought the car new in 68. I bought the car from her in 76 and owned it for 14 years. I sold the car in 1990 and bought it back in 2001 and started the resto. It was a fun project and I did all the work myself aside from the transmission and welding in all the new metal, and it needed a lot.

I have never used any polarized filters, but will check into one.
Rick