My new (used) Sigma 500mm f/4.5 HSM arrived!

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by Guest-002, Jul 6, 2007.

1. Guest-002

Guest-002 Guest

Jan 14, 2006
    Worcester, MA
    The Sigma 500mm f/4.5 HSM that I purchased from DNAsiRNA arrived at work and I could hardly wait for the workday to end so that I could play with it. We live on a lake, so the first thing after I set it up was to take it out on the deck, but there was no activity to be seen. So, I went to the front yard to take pictures of the sparrows that always congregate there.

original.

No sooner had I started shooting that Katey came out of the house and called me over. As I started to walk toward her she said "No, no, bring the camera". I knew then that she had spotted a target of opportunity. Sure enough, there was this cormorant hanging on the neighbor's dock.

Took lots of pictures though, unfortunately, he (she?) was in the shade.

View attachment 104519

View attachment 104520

And then, after a while, he left.
    View attachment 104521

I can tell this is going to be a fun summer exploring this lens.

The one thing I'll have to address is that it does not focus using the AF ON button. I think I've read that Sigma has a fix for that and I'll have to send it in as some point, but it won't be for a bit yet.

These pictures were shot using a Sidekick. I also just received a used Wimberley II head that I tried afterwards, and I couldn't really notice an improvement. I'll post separately on that in the Tripod forum.

All pics have EXIF info.

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 6, 2007
  2. Hi Radu, congrats on an excellent lens!
    A quick tip on posting images on the cafe, try to keep them down to the suggested width. Otherwise, the site will compress them and you will get a lot of jaggies that detract from the images.

3. slappomatt

slappomatt

May 13, 2006
    San Diego CA