My sweet Melissa...

Discussion in 'People' started by sommer, Jul 15, 2005.

1. This is my 6-year-old daughter, Melissa. I'm quite new to photography, so all comments/criticisms are welcome. Every little bit helps! The first picture is straight from my D70, just resized in PSCS2. The second is my attempt to crop....I know virtually nothing about photoshop, so any suggestions as to what I might do to improve the picture that way would be helpful as well.

Taken with my D70 with 50mm f/1.8 lens, aperture priority, f/2.8, shutter speed 1/60, ISO 200, SB600 in i-TTL mode, sReala2 custom curve

26211841_9cd8dab779.

And here's the crop...
    26211842_6aeff67e79.

2. eng45ine

eng45ine

May 11, 2005
    Chicago, IL
    Private Message Sent...Great images of Melissa. I sent a private message because it was rather lengthy.

3. Thank you, Frank! I did as you suggested...USM is a wonder! Now the images (below) look the way they did before I resized them. I also posted a flower on the macro/flowers forum and got the same advice over there :) So, I applied USM for web sharpening, amount 400%, radius 0.3 and threshold 0, and I came up with these:

26227269_9f530caf7f_o.

And the crop:
    26227268_8ef7b85a19_o.

Thanks for taking the time to PM me with the details, Frank. I appreciate it.

More comments/critique welcome...I'm learning a lot on this forum! Thank you all!

4. Gale

Gale

Jan 26, 2005
    Viera Fl
    Both images are really great. What ever Frank advised, made them all that much better.

Only thing I woud add is use the clone tool and get rid it the distracting patch in upper left. You can use a lower opacity on that till you get it just right. Can go over area more than once if the opacity is lowered. Or may 100 % will work fine.

Beautiful little girl Very unusual gorgeous eyes.
    Smiling eyes, like her big smile.

5. Hi Sommer,