1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

My thoughts on CLS and proprietary forms of lighting.

Discussion in 'General flash photography, lighting, and technique' started by twinturboteddy, Aug 7, 2009.

1. I've noticed a lot of people getting mixed up with the technical and problems inherent to this form of proprietary lighting. There are questions from people trying to understand this system so they can improve their own photography and learn a new arena. I am in this category myself and spent a lot of time like most of you trying to figure it out and to find are strobes, or flash units better for me? Am I trying to use too many groups? What's with the pre-flash shadow when I thought I turned it off? What's the barcode for on my flash gels?

I'm still learning off camera lighting myself but I think I've nailed down the proprietary CLS lighting. And in my own opinion, all that time and energy to test, and trying to figure it out. I still prefer off-camera, manual strobes/flashes, fired using non-proprietary means (wireless, wired). All that time and my result was finding, I dont' need CLS.

This recent strobist movement, where CLS can also fall into, really favors the idea of "Simple is better". People are using older digital slr's (d50 for me) to take advantage of a high speed synch camera, and older pre-dslr flashes. These materials are much cheaper and most have connections to use as wired/wireless remotes.

I know there are uses for CLS and I do still use it if possible. But manual flashes with radio wireless/wired triggers are another arena.

I never have to worry about a flash firing.

I never have to worry about the position of bright objects in my frame for fear the camera might dial down a flash.

I know everytime how much light is going to come from a flash.