Mystery spheres - what are they???

Growltiger

Administrator
Administrator
Mysterious spheres have started appearing in my house. They are hard and vary in size between 2 and 3mm in diameter. I have broken one open and it looks the same inside as outside. There are tiny areas of colour visible.

Are they natural or manufactured? What are they?

Here is a photo, the ruler is marked in mm.
(Nikon D300, 60mm Nikkor mounted reversed, f/16, two R1 macro flashes.)

Spheres.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

What are they

I believe they are called concretions and occur naturally in sedimentary rocks. Of course it has been 40 years since I studied geology in college and could be wrong on the name.

DaveO

What insects occur locally that use "mud" to build a nest? For example, here there is a wasp species that gathers dirt, rolls it along with saliva into a mud ball, then flies back to the site where it builds a tunnel shaped nest for the eggs to hatch and mature through the larval stages into adulthood. There are numerous beetle and even a few birds species that do the same (although the size implies an insect). These dried balls could be an example of an abandonded attempt by one (or a colony).

Growltiger

Administrator
Administrator
What insects occur locally that use "mud" to build a nest? For example, here there is a wasp species that gathers dirt, rolls it along with saliva into a mud ball, then flies back to the site where it builds a tunnel shaped nest for the eggs to hatch and mature through the larval stages into adulthood. There are numerous beetle and even a few birds species that do the same (although the size implies an insect). These dried balls could be an example of an abandonded attempt by one (or a colony).