Need a new flatbed scanner ... recommendations?

A couple of weeks ago, the Canon 9950F scanner I've had for seven years or more decided it would retire itself without notice. So I need a new flatbed scanner.

First, I am a graphic artist/photographer using a Mac Pro with 48GB of RAM and currently running Mountain Lion (Mac OS 10.8). I have an Epson 9800 Stylus Pro, so sometimes I need to make very large prints, so optical scan resolution (and megapixels, when we're talking digital cameras) are important. I don't do a ton of scanning anymore, but I want to get the very best quality I can for whatever dollar-amount I can get approved. I do not need to be concerned particularly with scanning anything other than reflective originals, because I have a Nikon film scanner already. I'd prefer something geared to produce the best results from photographic prints, and it would be good to get something with a version of Digital ICE (or similar) that actually works. And I'd like to get something that I can reasonably expect to work for several years, as the 9950F did. Also, I use VueScan Professional, so I'm not too concerned with the scanner's software (unless it is better than VueScan and also doesn't add a lot of expense).

I found the 9950F was a good scanner, except that mine had an issue with faint color streaks (in cyan, magenta and yellow, to my eye) -- one streak in each color, faint and spaced a couple of inches or so apart. Each streak looked a bit like a fading single-color rainbow, or how such a thing would look if rainbows weren't curved. As well, I was never impressed with the "FARE" technology -- at least as it existed back in 2005 when this scanner was new -- as Canon's version of Digital ICE. I'd really like to find something with scratch and dust removal that really works well, especially for those times that I just don't have time to zoom in and deal with each visible flaw by hand.