New guy, looking for some Lens advice

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by Max713, May 5, 2011.

1. Max713

Max713

May 5, 2011
    Albany, OR
    Hello, I'm Max, the new Nikon guy on the block :)

I came here looking for some lens help.
    I'm an amateur photographer, with about a year and a half of shooting experience. I've only ever had a couple paid gigs (shooting friends cars), but I only do this for fun anyways so I'm ok with that!

I have a pretty particular subject preference, but I have been known to shoot just about anything.
    My main interests include (in order):
    -Automotive
    -Animal (Reptiles in particular, mine especially)
    -Landscape
    -Motorsports (action)
    -Portrait
    -Everything else

Right now my equipment consists of:
    Nikon D60
    18-55mm VR F:3.5-5.6
    55-200mm VR F:4-5.6 w/ Hood
    Nikon Small Bag
    4GB SD Card
    1 Battery
    Camera Strap
    Sunpack 8001 UM Tripod

I have a Lowepro Photo Sport 200 bag on order, scheduled to be here in early June, and I can't wait!
    http://www.lowepro.com/photosport
    Planning to add a shutter remote, and circular polarizer eventually, along with an extra battery.

Sorry for so much to read, but my understanding is the more info I provide, the easier it will be for you to help.
    At the moment I'm looking at a couple lenses, a higher max f stop short to mid range lens, and one lens to replace my 18-55/55-200.

-For the higher max f stop short/mid, I'm looking really hard at the Nikkor AF 50mm f/1.8D. It's an awesome value at just $135 retail... My understanding is the 50mm f/1.4 is far and above a better lens, but it is also 3-4 times as expensive. I am a broke college student, so value is HUGE.

-For the "universal" lens I'm looking at both the Nikkor AF 18-200mm VR f/3.5-4.5G and the Tamron AF18-270mm F/3.5-6.3