New Lens, new world.

It appears I was not alone when I recently picked up a 105 F2.8 micro lens in a for sale forum thread.

I've enjoyed viewing macro work for years, but never really tried to do much. You guys provide a high bar to shoot for. :)

Inspired by Terri's lovely work, I'll jump in too.

Full disclosure: I have no macro experience. I am a birding & wildlife enthusiast, by & large. This will be demonstrated by my use of TC's on my macro lens. So far, I've played with it on my Z6 & Z50, with both 1.4x & 2x TC's and native. Thus far, I've been hand holding and shooting insects in a blowing bush in my backyard thanks to COVID.

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Here's a few with TC's. I'm sure this probably goes against macro best practices, but it was fun playing.

These are your first macro images? Nah, couldn't be. Nobody begins with images this good.
Thank you, Mike. You're too kind. Yea, I just bought the lens from a FS section on one of the forums because it seemed like a good deal. I've admired macro photography for some time and gone as far as watching some videos. From what I've "observered", I need to find a way to get a lot closer too, and steady the subject. These were a lot of fun, and kinda like miniature bird photography - on the move. :)

You're off to a good start. The crane fly in the 3rd picture of the 1st post is particularly nice.

Larry
Thanks Larry. I've always called them TX Mosquitos. Lol. I've certainly never seen that much detail on them though. It looks like they have some sort of balance tubes (?) just behind the wings.

these look great Phil
Much appreciated, Randy.

Beautiful!
Thank you, Mr. Coyote.

Based upon these examples, I'm thinking that you've "flattened the curve" - the learning curve for macro photography, that is! :D
If I can help flatten the curve, count me in! Thank you, Eric.

These are really nice shots, Phil! It seems that macro was waiting for you!