New Sigma 17-70 f/2.8-4 OS HSM

It might sound like heresy to suggest that a third party lens (Sigma) actually rivals Nikon's excellent 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR AF-S DX in terms of sharpness and overall image quality, comes very close to it in build quality, and might be a better, slightly less expensive alternative for some users who are looking for a top-notch walkaround zoom. However, that is definitely the case with Sigma's new 17-70 f/2.8-4 OS HSM lens.

I purchased this new Sigma, which is currently priced everywhere at $449 (compared to $629.95 for the 16-85 Nikon from B&H), on February 6 and held off on posting any discussion about it here until I had the opportunity to field test it quite thoroughly on my D90.

I must say that is has been a very long time since I have been so favorably impressed by a new lens. I bought it specifically hoping for a sharper, faster lens with better closeup capability to replace the Nikon 18-200 VR I've been using for four years, to be used as my primary walkaround lens in conjunction with my outstanding Nikon 70-300 VR.

The Sigma has exceeded my highest expectations in every respect, and my venerable, creepy old 18-200 VR (which I'll probably never sell) has been relegated to a desk drawer. First of all, I should probably post a link to a very thorough, unbiased review of the Sigma that was posted on 02/02/10 by LensTip.com. Forgive the occasionally fractured English in the review, it's a translation from Polish. Nonetheless, the review is excellent and very complete.

http://www.lenstip.com/index.php?test=obiektywu&test_ob=223

What, specifically, makes it a viable alternative to Nikon's 16-85 for some people considering an upgrade from their kit lens to a walkaround zoom?

1. Sharpness and overall image quality of the two lenses is comparable. At some focal lengths and apertures the Sigma even has the edge.

2. The Sigma's zoom range is a bit more restricted than the Nikon's, but the Sigma is substantially faster.