new sReala curve sample pics

Joined
Apr 6, 2005
Messages
425
Location
Glen Allen, Virginia
Im pretty pleased with the new sReala V2 curve....preserved some highlights but, more importantly, the pic looks like the scene did when i took the pic.....slightly overcast yesterday but this is straight out of the camera only resized for posting here......taken with my 28-70 2.8.....(love that BTW)....first one with no flash and second with the SB-800...any comments or suggestions?



Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
978
Location
Viera Fl
Looks super. Good tone.

think I need one for the D100.. Too much red to deal with.

Maybe it needs to go in for service check up and cleaning. Would not be a bad Idea.
 
K

Ken-L

Guest
Gale said:
Looks super. Good tone.
think I need one for the D100.. Too much red to deal with.
Like so many things, there are some who like to use curves and some who don't.

I like using a curve for many reasons, and find the sReala_V2 works very nicely with the D70.

Gale - you could use Nikon Capture to create your own curve that just takes the red to where you want it. All you need to do is adjust one "typical" shot for the red only, and then save that as a curve and load it into your camera. I bet someone with a D100 and NC could use one of your shots and do that for you.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2005
Messages
425
Location
Glen Allen, Virginia
Re: These looks great, how does it compare

Steve S said:
to the WW, aka P&S curve, I'm now using on my D70?
I was using the P&S before the switch and this seems to preserve highlights much better while also giving the pics that pop that most people want....didnt hurt the cause to be shooting with the 28-70 2.8, either.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
4,741
Location
SE Florida
Great lens+bright overcast skies help too ;)

Thanks for the testimonial, I'm gonna try it. Now, how bout a couple shots in bright sunshine @high noon? :wink:
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
20,922
Location
SW Virginia
I'm interested in using this curve. Does one have to have NC to load it?

Is NC required for postprocessing of images to take advantage of it?

Thanks for your help folks. I'm new at this.
 
Joined
May 23, 2005
Messages
745
Yes, NC is required to process to benefit from in camera curves. Bummer, because I don;t use the Nikon apps, they are slow and memory hogs IMO.

There are other prgrams that say they support curves, notably Raw Magick Lite, however I consider myself a moderate to "power" user and cannot make heads or tails of RM Lite, so I would not recommend trying it.

I would be pretty happy if RSE (Raw Shooter Essentials, the best RAW processor IMO) recognized curves.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
4,741
Location
SE Florida
Pa, you can download the free NC4 trial

which is good for 30 days, during that time you can use Nikon Capture Control, a sub-program within NC4, to install the curve. Can help you w/that too.
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
20,922
Location
SW Virginia
Re: Pa, you can download the free NC4 trial

Steve S said:
which is good for 30 days, during that time you can use Nikon Capture Control, a sub-program within NC4, to install the curve. Can help you w/that too.
That is what I was planning to do, but the post of Twig above suggests that you still need NC to take advantage of the curve in PP. Is that correct :?:
 
K

Ken-L

Guest
Re: Pa, you can download the free NC4 trial

Pa said:
That is what I was planning to do, but the post of Twig above suggests that you still need NC to take advantage of the curve in PP. Is that correct :?:
Yes, NC is the only program that keeps all the settings in effect and displays the RAW/NEF file that way. To me that is a very important feature!
 
D

d70john

Guest
this curve

i think i loaded it into my d70 but how do you know that its in there
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
4,741
Location
SE Florida
Not correct

Ken-L said:
Pa said:
That is what I was planning to do, but the post of Twig above suggests that you still need NC to take advantage of the curve in PP. Is that correct :?:
Yes, NC is the only program that keeps all the settings in effect and displays the RAW/NEF file that way. To me that is a very important feature!
The settings you apply in the camera will be the settings that effect your exposures, regardless of the editing program you use. A Custom tone curve is just that, a tone setting. You don't say if you shoot raw or not, even though that doesn't matter, unless you want to change the tone curve in raw editing.
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
20,922
Location
SW Virginia
Re: Not correct

Steve S said:
The settings you apply in the camera will be the settings that effect your exposures, regardless of the editing program you use. A Custom tone curve is just that, a tone setting. You don't say if you shoot raw or not, even though that doesn't matter, unless you want to change the tone curve in raw editing.
Well, that's what I expected until I read some of the posts above.

I do shoot in RAW and have Photoshop 8.0 (CS) and Rawshooter Essentials, which I prefer, for converting to jpeg.

So let's see if I've got this right: I download the trial version of NC, use it to install the curves on the D70, take pictures as before, and then when I open them with RSE, the baseline RAW file already has the curve applied? Or do I have to shoot in jpeg to get the effect of the curve?

And suppose I don't like the effect of the curve - I'll need NC to remove it from the camera, right?

Thanks in advance for straightening me out.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2005
Messages
425
Location
Glen Allen, Virginia
Re: Not correct

Pa said:
Steve S said:
The settings you apply in the camera will be the settings that effect your exposures, regardless of the editing program you use. A Custom tone curve is just that, a tone setting. You don't say if you shoot raw or not, even though that doesn't matter, unless you want to change the tone curve in raw editing.
Well, that's what I expected until I read some of the posts above.

I do shoot in RAW and have Photoshop 8.0 (CS) and Rawshooter Essentials, which I prefer, for converting to jpeg.

So let's see if I've got this right: I download the trial version of NC, use it to install the curves on the D70, take pictures as before, and then when I open them with RSE, the baseline RAW file already has the curve applied? Or do I have to shoot in jpeg to get the effect of the curve?

And suppose I don't like the effect of the curve - I'll need NC to remove it from the camera, right?

Thanks in advance for straightening me out.
The only difference between shooting jpg and raw relative to curves is that with RAW (.NEF) you can uncheck the curve and have the normal tone applied....With JPG, once you shoot it - consider it done...not sure about the trial, but if you installed the curve and then for some reason wanted to uninstall down the road i would imagine that you could reinstall the trial again......good luck..i think you will be pleased.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
4,741
Location
SE Florida
You can just reselect a regular tone curve in-camera,

if you decide you don't like it, or want to use it anymore. You don't have to have NC for that.
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2005-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom