NEW to all of this... Menu Banks, thanks

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gaperklake, Mar 28, 2007.

1. gaperklake

gaperklake

Mar 27, 2007
    Reno, NV
    Hello,

My name is Guy Perkins and I live in Reno, NV… and I am new to Nikon Café, the D 200 and very new to digital photography in general. Besides the D 200, I have a Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5~5.6 IF-ED, Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2-8 VR and a SB-800.

I’m writing and introducing myself to ask for help and direction on setting up preferences in the four Shooting Menu Banks and Custom Menu Banks. Right now I’m calling the Shooting Menu Banks: A = general; B = portrait; C = landscape; D = macro. I realize these settings reflect personal preferences, but – at this point – I don’t know enough to have many of those. I am taking photos and I have read the user manuals completely — and return to them often.

Thank you so much,

GuyPerkins

2. Hi Guy and welcome. I would reccomend that as you learn the new camera it would pay off better not to set up banks. You will have to make concious decisions for all of your custom settings each time you do a shoot and in so doing will then learn whether banks would have been helpful. At the point of that discovery you will then know the answers to this question you pose, as they relate to your shooting style and preferences.
    Look forward to seeing some of your work.
    Dave

3. Last edited by a moderator: Mar 15, 2017
  4. gaperklake

gaperklake

Mar 27, 2007
    Reno, NV
    Hello Dave and Raul,

Thank you, thank you guys for your responses, very helpful advice and welcome! (I am not only new to digital photography, but to message forums as well.)

I followed the link and found it good and reassuring reading. That your your suggestions have helped greatly.

My best,

Guy Perkins