New to forum...my intro pic ;)

Discussion in 'Night, InfraRed, and UltraViolet Photography' started by Mark Rogers, Apr 15, 2017.

1. Howdy all.
    Been surfing this thread for a week or so and so impressed with all you post. I'm fairly new at IR but having a blast with it. This below is a vineyard near Grass Valley, Ca.

Lucasie 2.

Last edited: Apr 15, 2017
    • Like Like x 4
  2. Guess I need to make pics smaller...;) sorry

3. bmell

bmell

Feb 11, 2009
    Nebraska
    Wow, now that is some strong drama!

Welcome to the cafe!

4. Thanks Brad....that's what I love about color IR ;)

5. Nope, it's just fine. In fact (IMO) the larger the image the better (up to a point, of course).

Welcome and nice job...! :)

6. Wow! That makes for quite the entry--in a very good way! Welcome.

7. BrianVS

BrianVS

Mar 15, 2017
    Virginia
    Very nice-

What camera and filter are you using?

8. Believe it or not, it's an old Nikon D100 converted to IR by Lifepixel.. I shoot in RAW (NEF) to avoid too much noise. I have a D3200 I'm going to send to them soon...much better camera.

9. BrianVS

BrianVS

Mar 15, 2017
    Virginia
    I believe you! Those 6MPixel CCD's have big pixels- and they do particularly well with infrared. CCD's have much higher sensitivity to IR than newer CMOS sensors. It's not just the IR cutoff filters, the CMOS detectors themselves have the IR bred out of them. I'm tempted to look for a Nikon D200 for IR.

10. Hmmm...did not know all that. I will keep this D100 but had/have planned to have a D3200 converted for various reasons...bigger lcd screen, faster buffer, takes higher meg cards, etc. Are you suggesting I might be disappointed ? I know of several guys who convert more modern cameras and not heard any complaints ...Since the out of camera image on the small lcd is hard for me to assess I really wanted a bigger one... I always try to bracket my photos to get a good exposure. The buffer speed on the D100 is really slow...esp shooting RAW