New to FX

So I am a longtime member and have been here since the beginning with the migration from dpreview but haven't been active for quite some time now. I recently decided to upgrade to a D800 from the D300 and want to know if there is anything in particular I should be aware of. I do photography for a living and I know I am joining the full frame party a bit late. I pushed the D300 as far as I could but it was time for an upgrade for many reasons. Low light and resolution being the main factors. I shoot mainly on location portraits along with some food photography. The portraits are normally environmental portraits done indoors and I end up using a decent mix of ambient and strobe light. Because of this, I am normally shooting fairly wide open and at many times, around 1/30 or slower. This is what I am hoping full frame will help with.

So is there anything about the D800 or full frame in general that I should be thinking about or aware of? I have yet to actually receive the camera (purchased online) and did have to buy 1 replacement lens for my 17-55 2.8 which also hasn't arrived yet (the 28-70 2.8).

Biggest 'issue' I ran into when I started using a D800 (came from a D3 though, but have owned and used the D300 in the past as well) is that the 36MP are merciless in revealing any sloppiness in your shooting technique (something I regularly have to confess to be guilty of).

Shoot with too much shake (camera or shutter speed), it will show. Lenses with less then near perfect IQ, it will show. I used to own a 2.8/80-200 AF-D zoom. Used it, mostly near of fully wide open even despite the just reputation of being soft at those settings, without complaints and to full satisfaction for nearly twenty years on camera's starting with the F90 to the D3. Couldn't use it D800 any longer however, the softness simply was showing mercilessly so I was forced to upgrade to a 2.8/70-200 VRII.