New to Landscapes....Songo Pond

Discussion in 'Landscapes, Architecture, and Cityscapes' started by FFLVandals, Jul 26, 2007.

1. I started shooting about a year ago with action and sports since I got a couple of rugrats who love to play. I have started to branch out to expand my horizons (no pun intended..did i just right that..lol) and had a try at a few different shots from vacation in maine.

This one I tried to step down the lense to f22 @ 1/160 and -.1 exposure. I thought the leaves might add an interesting natural frame. Not sure if it worked.
    [​IMG]

This one I took at a much faster shutter speed to try to silhoutte the trees and exposed for the sky. It was @ f2.8 1/4000 with -.33 exposure.
    [​IMG]

Finally this was my last attempt later that night with a longer shutter release. It probably would work better if I bracketed two shots and combined them but trying to take some baby steps. This was also at f22 with a 10 second shutter release and no exposure bias..

[​IMG]

I have also picked up a great new program for the mac that does posters, frames, and postcards and used it for these frames. It's called Posterino and it is reasonably priced and simple to use.

Let me know what you think about my attempts and any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. kwork

kwork

Jun 8, 2006
    NC
    I really like the use of the tree branches to frame the 1st shot.
    The boat in the 3rd shot suffers from the long exposure with a significant amount of blur. These long exposures really need stable subjects. Perhaps just the pier would work better.

Looks like a great place to vacation.

3. Hi Bill

Welcome to Nikon Cafe and landscape photography! I am a relative newbie here also and love to see more landscape enthusiasts join in. Nice shots!