New to NX

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Chris C, Aug 3, 2007.

1. I'm new to Capture NX. It's taking me a little while to get the hang of it.....even though it's fairly intuitive. Here's a shot from a trip back in February in Bellingham, Washington:

Any comments or constructive criticisms will be appreciated.
  2. Chris

Not a post processing expert by any means but this looks good to me.
  3. Thanks, Dan. I'm certainly not a PP expert either. That's why I'm asking for comments. We've a lot of really good post processing experts here on the forum. Hope they'll respond. I've been struggling with my equipment, my computer, and post processing skills for some time now.
  4. Looks good to me too, especially for such a high contrast scene. The reflection is treated especially well. Best thing you can do for yourself is to invest the 30 bucks for Jason Odell's e-book, "The photographers guide to Capture NX" Then YOU can teach me :)
  5. Gale

Jan 26, 2005
    Viera Fl
    That really looks great.

You are really getting good at NX

6. Actually, I bought Jason's book before I bought NX...........but thanks.

Thanks for the accolades, Gale.
  7. Works for me, well done Chris.
  8. Commodorefirst

Commodorefirst Admin/Moderator Administrator

May 1, 2005
    Very Very nice Chris, I think you did well on this shot,

I did a couple of other steps to give a bit of snap to your photo, and I did them in NX. Now, remember the results will be a bit different on your full res image compared to this lower res file.

I first wnet into the brightness/contrast control and set brightness at +6 and contrast +2, I liked this better than a further levels work which you probably already did.

I also went into color booster and added +8 which added a little more depth to the reds and blues, I also added saturation to the entire image of +11%