New to SLR's- D40, D50 or D80

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DFRI, Jul 23, 2007.

1. DFRI

DFRI

Jul 21, 2007
    Rhode Island
    I am a novice at photography and cameras in general. Currently, I have an older Canon A70 p&s. Looking to upgrade to a Nikon SLR. Don't want to buy something that will be way over my head.

Is the D50 the most recommended entry level Nikon SLR. I realize that there is a lot to learn about them, and don't want to buy one that will just frustrate me from the start. Will most likely be buying a camera kit from Cameta.

Hoping to take more pics like this and family pics, but have them come out nicer.

Thanks for any suggestions.

[​IMG]

2. Welcome to the cafe.

What type of photography is it that you do you do/want to do? You'll find the lenses have as much to do with achieving your artistic goals as the body will, so consider your options with both in mind.

Sean

3. haze2

haze2

Mar 18, 2007
    Phoenix, AZ
    You will be fine with any of the 3 cameras you mentioned. Don't worry about getting in over your head because you can set any of them to Auto and use it just like a point and shoot. Then as you read and learn more about the camera you can explore the other settings. Just shoot a lot and have fun.....you can't go wrong.

4. The D50 is more than an "entry level" camera. Try it ............. you'll like it. I've owned a lot of Nikon DSLR's and I kept the D50 due to it's small size and excellent high ISO performance. Excellent camera!

JohnG

5. SoCalBob

SoCalBob

Feb 9, 2006
    Riverside, CA
    I concur that the D50 is an ideal entry level DSLR. It's quite easy to master, versatile, and the image quality is excellent right out of the camera with a minimum of post processing. The D80 is a considerable step up, both in terms of features (some of which are extremely useful) and price, but still a fine camera for a beginner who anticipates getting a bit more serious about photography.