1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Newbie and getting D90 ????

Discussion in 'Nikon DX DSLR' started by mlktwins, Sep 13, 2008.

1. mlktwins

mlktwins

Aug 29, 2008
    VA
    Hi all! I'm getting the Nikon D90 and it will be my first DSLR camera. As a novice my question is should I get the kit and use the 18-105 lens that comes with it or get the body only and get the 18-200 lens? As of now, my main reason for getting the camera is to take pics of my 3 year old twins who don't sit still for long. I would obviously like to take some portraits shots, but I'm looking to get the boys in action at the zoo, park, etc. and not have all the motion blur that I'm getting with my point and shoot.

I've heard the 18-200 is a great all around lens, but not exceptional at any one thing. My friend has a D80 with the 18-200 and she has taken some great photos of my boys. I don't know much about the 18-105. I do know that I will not be able to stop and switch the lens easily for a few more years. I guess I could also get the 18-105 with the kit and spend about $500 getting the 70-300 lens. Just don't know how often I will have to change the lens.

Thanks for any input!
    Mendy

2. evokel

evokel

Sep 6, 2008
    florida
    i perfer the 18-200 but it just varies. but yes if you have a few lenses you will switch them out often

3. ERAUGrad04

ERAUGrad04

Jan 15, 2008
    IL
    Mendy-

Here is my $.02 for you. The 18-200 is a good lens, but it is a bit on the slow side. Having a max aperture in the 3.5-5.6 range, the lens will leave you with shots requiring higher ISO's to prevent blur.