Newbie looking for advice...

Discussion in 'Sports Photography' started by Snap96, Aug 1, 2008.

1. Snap96

Snap96

Jun 18, 2008
    Chicago, IL
    Just looking for some advice/clarification.

I’m completely new to the DSLR and photography world and have learned so much in the little time I’ve been around here. I’m going to a t-ball game tomorrow (9am) and I thought this would be a great learning experience with the camera.

I’ll be using the D40 and 55-200mm VR lens. I don’t see a need to use the 18-55mm kit lens but I’ll bring it along just in case.

After doing some thorough searching of this forum, I feel I came up with a good starting place as outlined below.

1. Aperture priority
    2. WB according to conditions (sunny, cloudy, shady)...may leave on Auto.
    3. Matrix/Center-Weighted….still unsure when to use either one.
    4. Auto ISO...may have to change in order to bump shutter speed.
    5. Exposure value may need to be tweaked
    6. AF-C with dynamic focus
    7. Burst mode
    8. VR off

I would greatly appreciate further comments or advice.

What adjustments or tricks can be done to combat the shadows caused by helmets/hats?

Should I be using the AE-L button to lock exposure?

I’m going through information overload so I’ll be happy if I have a couple keepers I can post.

Thanks in advance,
    Paul

2. Paul,

JMHO, others may disagree...

With your lens being a variable aperture lens, it will not be possible to lock it down to say f/4.5 then zoom to 200mm. Since it's easy to change, you might want to try some shots with shutter priority. (I shoot manual, which of course is another option for you).

Try centre weighted, metering off the face of the player. Centre weighted puts the emphasis on the centre 75% of the frame, which will cover both the shadows and highlight of the players face. Again, you can always change it and compare.

If SS is below 1/1000, you could use VR, just remember to set up the shot and let it settle in first.