Newbie - Too many lens choices

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by Jill L, Jun 12, 2007.

1. Hi there everyone,

First timer here... I am an amateur photographer who wants to move from a point and shoot to a SLR. I've decided to purchase the D80 body because I don't want to buy something and then want to upgrade in the near future. Where do I start with lenses?

I am (was?) considering the 18-200 VR due to its versatility and the lack of having to change lenses. I've been researching and see that while many really like the lens, it does have its short-comings. Is this a good lens to start with?

The other option I've been considering is starting with the 18 - 70 (3.5-4.5G) for now and adding the 55-200 VR or 70 - 300 VR in the future.

I've been driving myself crazy trying to decide what to do here. Please help.

P.S. Should I invest in a Speed-light right away or can that wait?

Thanks in advance for any and all advice!

2. Welcome! Now, some people would have opinions on the 18-200VR, and since I do not have it, I will let them chime in. BUT, I do have the 70-300VR and highly recommend that for sure!!!! I also have the 18-70, which I got with my D70 and can recommend that too.

Cheers
    Nancy

3. Ask yourself two questions:
    1. What did I use my P&S for mostly? Find a DSLR lens that will allow you to continue to do the kind of photography you were doing.
    2. What did I find limiting about my P&S? In other words, what new, cool stuff do you want to be able to do with your new toy? Choose a lens that satisfies that desire.

If there is one lens that hits the sweet spot for 1 AND 2, say hallelujah, buy the sucker and get going.

The more likely scenario is that you will need at least two to hit both 1 and 2. If money is tight and you can't swing two new lenses plus the D80, pick 1 or 2 and go have fun.