Night Photography: I'm in the dark...lol

This is literally my first attempt at night photography. I'm new to photography in general, so I'd like someone who is more experienced to tell me what I am doing right and what I am doing wrong. I took 3 shots about 40 minutes ago using Bulb and Mup modes. I was messing around with the fstop (f16-f22) and different shutter speeds (10-30 second exposures).

The first shot is of a long street. I think it was f18 for 20 seconds.
The second shot was of a quiet street in the neighborhood f22 for 20 seconds (might be underexposed?)
The third shot has the best color, imo f18 @ 30 seconds.

All shot with the 24-70mm 2.8 nikkor

I uploaded 3 night shots here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/

I'm planning on getting much more practice!!!

Thanks!

Matt,

you are getting there - and you are choosing a difficult subject to start with.

They are all slightly underexposed and I suggest that your aperture is too small and ISO a tad low - you also need to set manual mode if you are not soing that already - the inbuilt meter lies to you in these conditions :)

I would used ISO400, f8 and somewhere around 20 secs as a start point. Key to this is looking at the histogram and ensure that you have everything in in and that you are not clipping out detail.

If you look at Bath or London in my web pages (below) you will see the sort of settings that I use.

Hope this helps

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
This is exactly the kind of help I need! Thank you.
Excuse my complete ignorance, but what am I looking for in the histogram (I have some homework to do)? Will increase iso and go with a wider aperture. I'm not in manual mode, either...lol

I have sooooo much to learn.

Your Bath and London shots are great!

EDIT: Found info on histograms in the manual. I'll read into it more later.

Matt,

you are getting there - and you are choosing a difficult subject to start with.